comet_scout: Shockwave from the comic "Worst bot ever" (boink)
[personal profile] comet_scout
I've been burned out of social media, and the internet mostly, so haven't really been checking around here or Blsky much. A little of Tumblr because it's on my phone. Have used my time for other things, like catching up to the Sonic franchise. Messy rambling.




I was watching a stream of DingDong and Julian playing Sonic Adventure 2 and Julian talked about not have watched the Sonic movies, I also hadn't watched them, and remembering that 3 was on Netflix, I decided to do a little marathon. I was sick during the Carnival break, so it's a good opportunity as any. This pretty much launched me into focusing on the franchise recently.

Watched all 3 in one sitting, quickly run down. The first one was, ew, to be completely honest, Nothing really special. Jim Carrey isn't a bad Robotnik, very different looking, but I think he has a very cartoony acting, so he feels a lot more in place with the Sonic characters, it's neat that the point is that he is slowly turning into a more game accurate Eggman (I do wonder how a Jack Black or DeVito Eggman would have gone). I liked 2 a little better, I like Knuckles as a character, and it was interesting to hear more lore from their world. I actually like how the human characters played out in the very end, but the scenes in the wedding were so jarring, feels like completely different style of movie.

3 is definitely the better of them. Maybe not being as knowledgeable of the Lore (yet) makes everything around Shadow less odd depending on how much they changed, doesn't look like much, if anything I prefer Maria and Shadow being in a bunker over the Ark (and kind like this origin for him even if him being a meteor is little silly). And I'm honestly interested in the next movie, Amy and Metal are both faves. Maybe luck will hold out the quality of 3 stays.


But I didn't stop here. I was following the Sonic IDW comics forever ago, stopped just about Surge arc for some reason, I also had started but not finished Sonic Prime. Got to both this past weeks. I really liked Prime, I don't have wild thoughts about it, but it was a solid fun show with an interesting story. If I remember right, the first concept for Sonic Boom was that it was going to be a show with an actual adventure story before being made into something more comedic, so it's nice to get it now. I really liked Rouge's design there, I kind of wished it became her official design.

For the comics, I had completely forgotten how the Metal Virus had ended for some reason, but I could've sworn I had already been a bit after Belle's introduction to Surge's introduction. Still, had a blast catching up. I've been reading it on my way to and back from Uni, genuinely good comic, solid art all throughout, I really liked almost all introduced characters, especially Tangle and whisper. I don't think there is any arc I disliked full on. My favorite was the race, I don't care about the rat guy as a villain, but Sonic rider design was cool and it was interesting to move on from the resistance by having it reform.

The last issues thought... I feel like a lot of doors have been opened but not closed. And now we are having the arc with Sage and Belle. I'm playing Frontiers, I heard it's disliked, but admit enjoying it for now. I don't like finding out that Sage is a thing now, not that I expected her dying in game, but she feels out of place with Cubot, Orbot, and Metal. I also think whatever is happening between her and Belle would be better between Belle and Metal. IDK, maybe she grows on me, let's see.


I mean, that's it for now. It's a long franchise. I'm going thought wayneradioTV's Sonic Subathon too. I don't want to watch Sonic X tbh, I did as a kid, but maybe I'll look into a few Archie comics. I'll look into what is missing.

Before all that my few interactions with the franchise was my sisters always logging me to a site to play what was random Sonic levels or a Sonic 2 rip, but you could choose your characters. I wonder if I could find it, I always chose Amy or Cream. I did play Forces and Mania too. And you know, this actually made me want to get back into Mega Man. I stopped participating because of bad fandom stuff, I'm mostly into the Classics, but I want to re-read the comics for them. They were IDW as well? Don't remember, but they were neat.

Gotta go make dinner.

⊜ Credit

⎋ Expand

No cut tags

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    
Page generated Wednesday, 25 March 2026 12:01
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios